Go Back   Infamous Nissan - Hardbody / Frontier Forums > Tech Area > Wiring and Electrical

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2022, 03:37 AM   #1
Systurnslead
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 25
Vehicle: 1997 Nissan Hardbody
Thanks: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Installed train horn but fuse blows

I can hit the horn for about a second and itís fine but if I lay on the horn for a couple seconds the fuse will blow. Since I live in Houston, Iíll need it going for a few seconds lol.
I came off the single horn wire and other is grounded.

Is it a matter of using a bigger gauge ground wire or adding an inline fuse even though Iím not going straight to battery?

The kit only came with horns, compressor, and relay (Which wasnít needed).
So I had to buy wire (18 gauge). Maybe I bought too small gauge?

It turned out pretty good though.
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg EF1A04C2-7BFC-4384-AD4E-B39970578DEF.jpeg (384.7 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpeg 549220BC-44A3-4B52-87BF-0FFE381E793D.jpeg (3.76 MB, 9 views)
Systurnslead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2022, 10:12 AM   #2
alabama_lowlife
Owner and Administrator
 
alabama_lowlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: jack, alabama
Age: 42
Posts: 10,819
Vehicle: 2012 370Z, 1970 Datsun 521, 1995 Nissan Hardbody x2
Thanks: 1,109
Thanked 2,244 Times in 1,841 Posts
Default

Which fuse is this connected to? The factory horn fuse? I think you’re discovering why the relay was included, because it IS needed. Use the factory wire for the horn to operate the relay. The relay will carry the large current flow for the train horn. The factory wiring and fuse are not capable of supplying enough current for this train horn.
__________________
alabama_lowlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2022, 01:17 PM   #3
Systurnslead
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 25
Vehicle: 1997 Nissan Hardbody
Thanks: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for your response. Iím just going off what the instructions said. It said if Iím not going straight to battery with a new horn switch, I donít need the relay because it already has a relay for the horn.
And itís connected to the stock horn fuse.
But your answer sounds right. Iíll give it a try.
Appreciate it!
Systurnslead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2022, 02:21 PM   #4
ahardb0dy
The Post Count Whore
 
ahardb0dy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Sorrento, Florida
Age: 56
Posts: 8,004
Vehicle: 2017 Nissan Frontier Desert Runner
Thanks: 71
Thanked 1,033 Times in 938 Posts
Default

The wire going to the stock horn is not large enough to run that small compressor. Use the stock horn wire, as was said, as the trigger wire for the relay.


Run 10 gauge with fuse from the battery to the relay (terminal 30 on the relay),


Most aftermarket relays use the same numbers:


30 - power in
87 - power out
86 - control current in (activates the relay)

85 - Ground


I usually just loop a short piece of wire from the ground terminal (85) back up to the screw to mount the relay


terminal 87 to the compressor power wire (10 gauge)


terminal 86 from the stock horn wire.


from the crocodile Dundee movie scene where he says "that's not a knife, this is a knife"


I say that's not a horn, this is a horn, LOL (my 2 Hadley air horns behind the grille in my 17 Frontier):


__________________
My name is Tony and I'm a Infamousaholic

Current truck - 2017 Nissan Frontier Desert Runner ,

(formerly owned: 1993 Nissan Hardbody king cab 2wd, 90 Nissan Sentra, 94 Nissan Pathfinder SE 4x4, 05 Nissan Titan, 87 Nissan SE-V6 4x4 king cab, 94 Infiniti Q45t & 80 Datsun 310GX )
ahardb0dy is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
Systurnslead (05-02-2022)
Old 05-02-2022, 11:50 PM   #5
Systurnslead
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 25
Vehicle: 1997 Nissan Hardbody
Thanks: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the info! Seems easy enough.
Crocodile Dundee was the sÖ growing up
Systurnslead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2022, 01:31 AM   #6
ahardb0dy
The Post Count Whore
 
ahardb0dy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Sorrento, Florida
Age: 56
Posts: 8,004
Vehicle: 2017 Nissan Frontier Desert Runner
Thanks: 71
Thanked 1,033 Times in 938 Posts
Default

Because the compressor you are using is a tank less design, you can use the horn wire to trigger the relay.


If it was like my setup with a tank and compressor the relay would be activated by a switch that opens a solenoid.
__________________
My name is Tony and I'm a Infamousaholic

Current truck - 2017 Nissan Frontier Desert Runner ,

(formerly owned: 1993 Nissan Hardbody king cab 2wd, 90 Nissan Sentra, 94 Nissan Pathfinder SE 4x4, 05 Nissan Titan, 87 Nissan SE-V6 4x4 king cab, 94 Infiniti Q45t & 80 Datsun 310GX )
ahardb0dy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2022, 05:04 AM   #7
Systurnslead
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 25
Vehicle: 1997 Nissan Hardbody
Thanks: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Rewired with 12 gauge (advance didn’t have 10), hooked up inline fuse and relay. Works like a champ now. Thanks!
Systurnslead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.