Go Back   Infamous Nissan - Hardbody / Frontier Forums > Model Specific > Hardbody Forum (D21)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2021, 03:41 PM   #1
Gary
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 7
Vehicle: Nissan Hardbody 1994, xe-v6
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Electronic speedometer not working

Another speedometer post, very sorry...

1994 4x4 xe v6. I have the electronic speedometer.

I have the common problem where my speedometer and odometer do not work in my cluster. Everything else works, especially my check engine light, brake light, and ABS light (gotta get those checked out soon).

I took the cluster out yesterday, and the four main screws in the center of the back of the cluster were already completely snug, so no problems there. The plugs all seemed in good shape as well. I switched the two blue relays to see if the one that deals with the speedometer was bad, but this did not make the speedometer or odometer come on.

Anybody have any ideas? Get a new cluster? Change out the speed sensor?
Gary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2021, 04:42 PM   #2
Deerhurst
4/86 SE-V6 2 tone 4x4 HB
 
Deerhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 7,530
Vehicle: 1986.5 SE-V6 4WD D21, 2003 Audi A4 Avant 3.0 Quattro
Thanks: 894
Thanked 938 Times in 855 Posts
Default

I'd start at the sensor and any wires that could be damaged.
__________________
1986.5 SE-V6 4X4 D21 Hardbody
Pacesetter Long Tube Headers
Morimoto Mini D2S HID Projectors and Hella 500s
VG33i
Deerhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
Gary (05-20-2021)
Old 05-21-2021, 12:26 AM   #3
jp2code
Software Developer
 
jp2code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Longview, TX [USA]
Age: 51
Posts: 10,541
Vehicle: 94 LB 2x4 Manual VG33e
Thanks: 1,688
Thanked 1,537 Times in 1,350 Posts
Default

The sensor is plugged into the transmission. You can pull it out and test it out by spinning the gear.

If it is plugged into the wiring harness and the vehicle power is turned ON, the speedometer in the cluster should move.

If not plugged into the harness, you can attach an ohm meter to see if the resistance changes when you spin the gear.

If it is good, then part of the electronics in the instrument cluster are bad. Replace the cluster.
__________________
Joe (not a mechanic!) Don't have an account? EMAIL ME
Factory Service Manuals: https://www.nicoclub.com/FSM/Hardbody/
Walk-through: Checking Nissan Trouble Codes
1994 VG30E to VG33E with H256 Cams

jp2code is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
Gary (05-24-2021)
Old 05-21-2021, 12:55 AM   #4
Deerhurst
4/86 SE-V6 2 tone 4x4 HB
 
Deerhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 7,530
Vehicle: 1986.5 SE-V6 4WD D21, 2003 Audi A4 Avant 3.0 Quattro
Thanks: 894
Thanked 938 Times in 855 Posts
Default

Probably best to use an analog meter if you want to test it that way. Most digital meters have too slow of a polling rate to see rapid changes.
__________________
1986.5 SE-V6 4X4 D21 Hardbody
Pacesetter Long Tube Headers
Morimoto Mini D2S HID Projectors and Hella 500s
VG33i
Deerhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
SBJ (05-21-2021)
Old 05-21-2021, 12:58 AM   #5
89'HBV6
Ol'school Geek
 
89'HBV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Washington State
Posts: 583
Vehicle: 89' D21 KC SE V6 5spd 2WD - 87' D21 KC SE V6 5spd 2WD
Thanks: 590
Thanked 148 Times in 130 Posts
Default

I've found my Gamin is quite accurate and timely. My speedo has been "off" since I got the truck.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deerhurst
What he is saying is the aerodynamics of a D21 is a brick in the wind.
Probably at least as bad as a Jeep so worse than a cow.
89'HBV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2021, 12:59 AM   #6
SBJ
Total Buzzkill
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: OR
Posts: 2,973
Vehicle: '90 D21 4cyl 5spd 2wd
Thanks: 327
Thanked 540 Times in 482 Posts
Default

I keep a cheapo analog meter around just for things like that and potentiometer switches.
SBJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2021, 02:44 PM   #7
rbourgeo
 
rbourgeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 111
Vehicle: 1996 D21
Thanks: 37
Thanked 23 Times in 15 Posts
Default

Just an FYI if you do need to replace the speed sensor… my experience: skip the cheap ones and get an NTK or denso. With a Honda CR-V I tried 3 aftermarket speed sensors that all didn’t work, until I found an original one. Not to say it’s the same on the Nissan but it might cause a lot of headaches. Save yourself the trouble of getting one that’s sucks from beck Arnly and doesnt work. Spend the extra $40 to know the speed sensor isn’t the issue.
rbourgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2021, 02:45 PM   #8
rbourgeo
 
rbourgeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 111
Vehicle: 1996 D21
Thanks: 37
Thanked 23 Times in 15 Posts
Default

In addition, check the pigtail for any corrosion.
rbourgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2021, 02:57 PM   #9
Gary
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 7
Vehicle: Nissan Hardbody 1994, xe-v6
Thanks: 7
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Since pulling my cluster and reinstalling it, my HVAC does not come on at all. I don't hear a blower, and I'm not sure if the compressor is coming on. My plan is to check the relays first because that seems easiest. I had no problems prior with the AC or heat. Is it possible I switched some plugs in the back of the cluster? I don't think that would cause the problem if that were even possible.


I tried switching around the two far right blue relays (low and left inside the cab) to see if anything would come on, but nothing did.

Does anyone have any experience on getting new relays? I also have one missing that, from my research, looks like it should be a blue relay like the other two, but the female plug is a bit different. I could use some help trying to find the missing plug since it is not the same as the other two blue ones.
Gary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2021, 03:11 PM   #10
rbourgeo
 
rbourgeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 111
Vehicle: 1996 D21
Thanks: 37
Thanked 23 Times in 15 Posts
Default

Might be possible- see far right one and lower left one look the same: https://imgbb.com/SP4btTQ. Seems unlikely that you crossed them all that way.

Also I doubt hvac system goes into dash cluster. My little brain tells me the four plugs ins are for temperature, gas gauge, Speedo/odometer, tachometer. Although I don’t know anything on the topic. Possible you may have tripped a fuse. That would be my guess.
rbourgeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.