Go Back   Infamous Nissan - Hardbody / Frontier Forums > Model Specific > Hardbody Forum (D21)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2020, 10:41 AM   #1
ewrjontan
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 110
Vehicle: '94 Hardbody
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default AC/Radio fuse keeps blowing

Went out to drive the truck today (94 VG30E) and noticed that my radio and my A/C were not working. Worked fine the day before.

Pulled the fuse (the 10A fuse labeled a/c and radio) and it was clearly blown. Threw in a new fuse and immediately blew.

I am assuming there is a short somewhere. Could the relay cause this issue? Everything else seems to work fine (the clock, light on the A/C button, cig lighter, etc).


Any ideas where to start? Thanks
ewrjontan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 11:12 AM   #2
alabama_lowlife
Owner and Administrator
 
alabama_lowlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: jack, alabama
Age: 41
Posts: 10,228
Vehicle: 2012 370Z, 1970 Datsun 521, 1995 Nissan Hardbody x2
Thanks: 931
Thanked 2,015 Times in 1,657 Posts
Default

Aftermarket radio? Look at the wiring there first.
__________________
alabama_lowlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 03:07 AM   #3
dvdswan
Super Moderator
 
dvdswan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Posts: 5,084
Vehicle: 96 HB
Thanks: 160
Thanked 714 Times in 632 Posts
Default

Check to see if your cigarette lighter is rusty.
__________________
Dave
96 HB XE
SAS'd D44 3-link on 35s
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2618002
dvdswan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2020, 08:06 PM   #4
street_rulerr
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: West Coast
Posts: 2,236
Vehicle: 1996 4x4 5spd
Thanks: 0
Thanked 200 Times in 189 Posts
Default

alot of the time this can point to a bad chassis ground somewhere else in the system. check the factory motor grounds. i had this happen in a car a long time ago and the wipers acted up and so did one other electrical thing. i found a loose factory ground and it all went away
street_rulerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2020, 05:03 AM   #5
FlintJunkie
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 202
Vehicle: '89 D21
Thanks: 20
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
Default

An issue I had while installing a new deck, it had a pair of wire that were for the light, in the deck...
I found out it would blow the fuse as soon as I turn the lights on...
Later I just separated the wires, taped off and that worked out.
I think they were pink with a blue line... Been a while back..
FlintJunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 02:42 AM   #6
ewrjontan
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 110
Vehicle: '94 Hardbody
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

So I pulled the radio today. Didn't see any shorted out or exposed wires. I unplugged the radio harness (from the radio) and the fuse did not blow.

I forgot my multimeter and it's dark now, but where do I start? Do I just test every wire on the harness and see if it connects to my ground?
ewrjontan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 09:10 AM   #7
XoXSciFiGuy
 
XoXSciFiGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,909
Vehicle: 1997 D21 King Cab XE 2WD, 1998 Pathfinder.
Thanks: 185
Thanked 515 Times in 468 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ewrjontan View Post
So I pulled the radio today. Didn't see any shorted out or exposed wires. I unplugged the radio harness (from the radio) and the fuse did not blow.

I forgot my multimeter and it's dark now, but where do I start? Do I just test every wire on the harness and see if it connects to my ground?
If you have both the AC and the radio on a ten amp fuse, running them both at the same time will cause a ten amp fuse to blow every time.

If the cigarette lighter is hooked into the same circuit, the problem is worse.

Go to a 20 amp fuse and try it again with both the AC and radio running. If nothing blows, you are good.

You didn't say WHO installed your aftermarket radio. Was it done professionally?
__________________

1997 King Cab XE, 5-sp, canopy, AC/PS, KA24E, 125,000 miles. Need a technical manual? Drop me a message. Chilton's for amateurs.
XoXSciFiGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2020, 11:43 AM   #8
alabama_lowlife
Owner and Administrator
 
alabama_lowlife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: jack, alabama
Age: 41
Posts: 10,228
Vehicle: 2012 370Z, 1970 Datsun 521, 1995 Nissan Hardbody x2
Thanks: 931
Thanked 2,015 Times in 1,657 Posts
Default

SciFi, that’s absolutely horrible advice. It’s NEVER advisable to increase fuse size due to factory engineered fuses blowing. You should probably not give electrical advice. Increasing the fuse size is a great way to facilitate a fire.

The green/white wire is the one we’re concerned with. It supplies power for the a/c relay, radio, and illumination for the clock. It does not supply the cigarette lighter. I think the most likely cause is something related to the radio. The radio itself could be bad. Try removing the a/c relay and plugging the radio up to see if it still blows. If so, then look very closely at the green/white wire at the radio.
__________________
alabama_lowlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
nunya (07-07-2020), swampyankee (07-07-2020)
Old 07-07-2020, 11:55 AM   #9
cadillacdude1975
The Gear Jammer
 
cadillacdude1975's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Age: 48
Posts: 10,099
Vehicle: 87 D21 SE KC V6 2wd 5sp & 87 Pathfinder 4x4 SE
Thanks: 408
Thanked 1,234 Times in 1,131 Posts
Default

Could be a butchered install job and a wire is exposed. There is a bunch of metal dash components around and under the radio chassis.
cadillacdude1975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 01:43 AM   #10
ewrjontan
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 110
Vehicle: '94 Hardbody
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

So I found continuity between the switched 12v and ground. Tried to following the wire behind the glove box but it disappears up into the dash. Does it go directly to the fuse box or does the wire it a relay or any other harness along the way? I don’t see anything based on the schematics.

Anyways, I jiggled the wires at the head unit and then the wires by the fuse box. It works now ��*♂️ But I’m sure it’ll mess up eventually.
ewrjontan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.