Go Back   Infamous Nissan - Hardbody / Frontier Forums > Model Specific > Hardbody Forum (D21)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2020, 01:35 PM   #31
ewrjontan
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 110
Vehicle: '94 Hardbody
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Replacing my speedometer unit worked great. �� thanks everyone
ewrjontan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2020, 05:50 AM   #32
amdilligaf1
i usually don't talk much
 
amdilligaf1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: south of raleigh,nc
Posts: 109
Vehicle: 1997 D21 RC 2WD KA24 5MT HF35 KH3 K
Thanks: 96
Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jp2code View Post
Yes, if you took an instrument cluster out of a 4 cyl truck and you are putting it into a V6 truck, you would need to match the dial as shown.

If your instrument cluster came from a V6 truck and it is going back into a V6 truck, you should not need to do anything.
thank you, joe for sharing your knowledge about this stuff.

the cluster i have came out of a V6 and will be going in my 4cyl dash, is there a picture anywhere that shows that setting?


my cluster removed from the V6 also has a digital clock, so my next project will be digging up the old threads that show how to power it up in a non clock truck. it doesn't look like it'll be too much trouble.
__________________
https://i.imgur.com/C1kQhyT.jpg?3
BAMA said i have a nice truck !
amdilligaf1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2020, 10:39 AM   #33
jp2code
Software Developer
 
jp2code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Longview, TX [USA]
Age: 51
Posts: 10,094
Vehicle: 94 LB 2x4 Manual VG33e
Thanks: 1,602
Thanked 1,391 Times in 1,226 Posts
Default

I'm not sure where to point that potentiometer for a 4-cylinder. Sorry about that.

But, your wiring harness will already have all you need to power the digital clock. In fact, it doesn't communicate with the ECU at all. It just takes a little bit of power off of the wiring harness that plugs into the instrument cluster.
__________________
Joe (not a mechanic!) Don't have an account? EMAIL ME
Factory Service Manuals: https://www.nicoclub.com/FSM/Hardbody/
Walk-through: Checking Nissan Trouble Codes
1994 VG30E to VG33E with H256 Cams

jp2code is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
amdilligaf1 (10-24-2020)
Old 10-25-2020, 04:14 AM   #34
amdilligaf1
i usually don't talk much
 
amdilligaf1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: south of raleigh,nc
Posts: 109
Vehicle: 1997 D21 RC 2WD KA24 5MT HF35 KH3 K
Thanks: 96
Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts
Default

i was digging around regarding my clock and came across this post from may/november 2018 by HANDS ON...In case anybody was wondering....

http://infamousnissan.com/forum/show...ighlight=clock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hands On View Post

.....One other thing to those who are installing 6-cyl clusters in 4-cyl trucks and need to set RPM: The little blue pot on the back of the tach to set the revs is continuously variable.

What's posted here on the board is that it should be turned to 1 o'clock. That gets it in the ballpark, but they vary quite a bit. Last cluster is was about 12:30 to get it to match ECU rev count. On this new one it was about 11:50, a little under 90deg. Took about 8 tries to get it just right.....and thanks again to Lowlife and David for the help....
__________________
https://i.imgur.com/C1kQhyT.jpg?3
BAMA said i have a nice truck !
amdilligaf1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
jp2code (10-25-2020)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.