Infamous Nissan - Hardbody / Frontier Forums

Infamous Nissan - Hardbody / Frontier Forums (http://www.infamousnissan.com/forum/index.php)
-   Wiring and Electrical (http://www.infamousnissan.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=47)
-   -   Ronnie's dash swap wiring how-to (http://www.infamousnissan.com/forum/showthread.php?t=20642)

alabama_lowlife 03-21-2012 02:33 PM

Ronnie's dash swap wiring how-to
 
http://www3.telus.net/ronnie/Gauge%2...Conversion.pdf

Lots of guys have been asking me about the hazard switch wiring. Here is an update to that wiring. This info is for 89 swapping to 97. If you find this doesn't work, let me know what year you have and I'll sort it out.

For the hazard switch plug, rewire it like this using your old wires and the old plug. Then plug it up to the new switch. Cut the plug off the wires. I list the loose wires first and the stub of wire sticking out of the plug as the plug pin color.



Connect the Green wire to the Brown/white plug pin

Connect the red/yellow wire to the gray/red plug pin

Connect the gray/blue wire to the gray/blue plug pin

Connect the gray/red wire to the pink/blue plug pin

Connect the pink/black wire to the white/black plug pin

Connect the pink/blue wire to the green plug pin

Connect the brown/white wire to the red/yellow plug pin

Connect the white/black wire to the pink/black plug pin
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ran into an issue today that I had not run across before while helping bradonodom18 work on his swap. The temperature gauge wiring it different on the non-tach trucks. His new cluster is from a 94 without a tach. The temperature gauge wire is C31 instead of A3 for the non-tach clusters.

chunk76 09-05-2012 07:47 PM

Thanks

creaper18 11-24-2012 10:33 PM

I did the dash swap everything is out of a 95 HB, but when I wired up the cluster using Ronnie guide I am am missing three wires on the original harness side. I have tried to wire it about three times to make sure I did not miss any thing. I missing C25 wht/blu (ecu pin #32), D wht (ecu pin#2) and E red/grn (fuse T). Has any one else ran into this problem? Any Help would greatly be appreciated.

Miggz707 11-24-2012 11:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by creaper18 (Post 309863)
I did the dash swap everything is out of a 95 HB, but when I wired up the cluster using Ronnie guide I am am missing three wires on the original harness side. I have tried to wire it about three times to make sure I did not miss any thing. I missing C25 wht/blu (ecu pin #32), D wht (ecu pin#2) and E red/grn (fuse T). Has any one else ran into this problem? Any Help would greatly be appreciated.

Yea, I ran into the exact problem. Its for the tach I believe. Pretty much I just left it alone lol. Been running it with no tach ever since...

alabama_lowlife 11-25-2012 12:03 AM

Red/green is for the clock. It's just a 12v wire, look for another wire that's hot all the time and splice to it.

The white/blue is simply an output from the cluster to the ecu for the speed sensor. You don't need that wire.

The white wire is for the tachometer. If your truck didn't originally have one, the wire may not be there. Check the ecu and see if there is a white wire on pin 2. If so, splice into it and run it to the cluster.

creaper18 12-20-2012 11:56 PM

Ok I cant even seem to get power to the cluster. At this point I have no idea. I could get the light/gauges to light up or move when direct power from a battery is applied, any more help would be appreciated. I lost my All-data subscription so I no longer have access to the 86 d21 wiring diagram. I printed it off just cant find it now.

alabama_lowlife 12-21-2012 12:12 AM

Check the link in my signature for a service manual for an 89, it should be close enough. It's a rather large download though. Ronnie's write up covers almost everything fairly well, so it should work. Check your fuses.

04STI&BAGGED89HB 02-05-2013 02:04 AM

Need a lil help! I did the swap and wiring on my 89 hardbody but I cant get my turn signals to work. Fuses, flasher, and all bulbs are good. All my other lights work fine. When I hit the hazard switch nothing but when I turn my lights on and hit the hazard switch the right signal comes on but doesnt flash. Any help help will be appreciated thanx in advance! !!

alabama_lowlife 02-05-2013 03:23 AM

Double check your hazard switch wiring. If that's absolutely correct, we'll go from there.

04STI&BAGGED89HB 02-05-2013 04:34 AM

All the wires are correct on the hazards, but instead of a orange wire on my stock hazard harness I have a white wire with a black stripe that I wired to pink and black on the new one


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.